Acknowledgments

This book could not have happened without contributions from an outstanding team. We thank Lise Johnson for her outstanding efforts to make this second edition a reality. Sarah Vernon guided us, kept us on task, and answered numerous questions throughout the process. Trish McFadden, Sheena Goldstein, and Bruce Hobart formed a superb production team. We also thank Judy Joseph, Jayme Heffler, Leslie Kraham, Joan Kalkut, and Beverly Peavler for their assistance with many features of the first edition that remain in this edition.

Our efforts have also been aided by a number of outstanding colleagues who have read different manuscript versions and provided valuable input. Their feedback has improved our coverage of topics and helped us identify areas of weakness. These colleagues include

Muriel Anderson, SUNY-Buffalo; Vondra Armstrong, Pulaski Technical College; Tim Barnett, Mississippi State University; Myrtle Bell, University of Texas-Arlington; Jerry Bennett, Western Kentucky University; Stephen Betts, William Paterson University; Thomas Bock, DeVry Institute of Technology-Long Island; Walter Bogumil, University of Central Florida; Angela Boston, University of Texas-Arlington; H. Michael Boyd, Bentley College; Gene Brady, Southern Connecticut State University; Lynda Brown, University of Montana; April Cobb, Oakland University; Patrick Coughlin, Kean University; Ralph Covino, Bridgewater State College; Craig Cowles, Bridgewater State College; Carol Cumber, South Dakota State University; Tammy Davis, University of Houston-Downtown; Diana Deadrick, Old Dominion University; Paula Donson, University of Alaska—Anchorage; Karen Eastwood, Florida Gulf Coast University; Dyanne Ferk, University of Illinois—Springfield; Bill Ferris, Western New England College; Mary Gowan, George Washington University; Brooke Hargreaves-Heald, University of Massachusetts-Lowell; John Hendon, University of Arkansas—Little Rock; Kim Hester, Arkansas State University; John Hulsebus, Chapman University College; Samira Hussein, Johnson County Community College; Jennie Johnson, University of Texas; Roy Johnson, Iowa State University; Kathleen Jones, University of North Dakota; Deborah Kelly, Siena College; Mukta Kulkarni, University of Texas—San Antonio; Wendall Lawther, University of Central Florida; Dane Loflin, York Technical College; Lucy McClurg, Georgia State University; Margie McInerney, Marshall University; Jon Monat, California State University-Long Beach; Byron Morgan, Texas State University-San Marcos; Darlene Motley, Robert Morris University; Dorothy Mulcahy, Bridgewater State College; James Myers, Tarleton State University; Rebecca Neilson, University of Texas-Arlington; Kay Nicols, Texas State University; Laura Parks, James Madison University; Sue Pogue, Tennessee Tech University—Cookvile; John Poirier, Bryant College; Alexander P. Portnyagin, Johnson & Wales University Graduate School; Richard Posthuma, University of Texas-El Paso; Gary Potts, University of Nevada-Las Vegas; Ross Prizzia, University of Hawaii-West Oahu; Herve Queneau, Brooklyn College; Gail Sammons, University of Nevada-Las Vegas; John Shaw, Mississippi State University; Carol Spector, University of North Florida; Howard Stanger, Canisius College; Gary Stroud, Franklin University; Abe D. Tawil, SUNY—Baruch College; Linda Urbanski, University of Toledo; Phillip Varca, University of Wyoming; Steve Warner, University of Houston; Paige Wolf, George Mason University; Laura Wolfe, Louisiana State University; Michael Wolfe, University of Houston—Clear Lake; and Ryan Zimmerman, Texas A & M University.